Restore Justice was founded by a dedicated group of activists and advocates who were tired of watching important but thorny criminal justice reform efforts get sidelined.   We are volunteer-driven and our board is drawn from affected communities, academic leaders, and local and national heavyweights from the reform movement.


Jobi Cates*

Executive Director
Restore Justice

Read Bio

Julie Anderson

Outreach Manager
Restore Justice

Read Bio

Marshan Allen

Project Manager
Restore Justice

Read Bio

Wendell Robinson

Nonprofit Leadership Apprentice
Restore Justice

Read Bio

Alice Swan

Office Manager
Restore Justice

Read Bio

Alissa Rivera

Communications Manager
Restore Justice

Read Bio

Board of Directors

Kevin Gallagher


Civic Leader

Jeff Howard

Vice President

Former Legal Director
Campaign for the Fair Sentencing of Youth

Corrie Leech


Director of Media Relations

Howard Conant


Urban Innovations

Cathy Aguilar

Criminal Justice Advocate

Jeanne Bishop

Assistant Public Defender
Cook County Public Defender

Mitch Cobey

Civic Leader

Barbara Flynn Currie

Civic Leader

Bernardine Dohrn

Civic Leader

Susanne Dumbleton

Professor Emeritus and Former Dean
Depaul Univeristy

Garien Gatewood

Program Director
Illinois Justice Project

Mickey Gaynor

Civic Leader

De Gray

Civic Leader

Tracy Hannan

Associate General Counsel

Marvin Lindsey

Community Behavioral Healthcare Association of Illinois

Shobha Mahadev

Clinical Assistant Professor, Children & Family Justice Center
Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Scott Main

Clinical Fellow, Children & Family Justice Center
Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Cynthia Morfin

Member & Advocate
Communities & Relatives of Illinois Incarcerated Children

Joseph Rodriguez

Formerly Incarcerated Criminal Justice Advocate

Fred Weatherspoon

Formerly Incarcerated Case Worker
Precious Blood Ministry of Reconciliation

Presita West

Assistant Public Defender
Cook County Public Defender

Judy Wise

Co-Founder and Former Director
Facing History-Chicago

Angel Ysaguirre

Executive Director
Illinois Humanities

*Ex-officio member

Restore Justice mourns the passing of Abner Mikva, a founding member of our organization, whose commitment to criminal justice reform in Illinois inspires our work and drives us to push for change every day.
  • Thank you for your interest.

    Please leave us a message and we will respond as soon as possible.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Your Phone Number

    Your Message

  • Join Us In Our Fight To Restore Justice.

    Submit your email address to be notified of crucial legislative action items, fundraisers, and news about our progress.

    [mc4wp_form id="18939"]